It Was a Good Day

Just waking up in the morning gotta thank God
I don’t know but today seems kinda odd
Woke up early for fajr with no alarm clock
Salah in jama’, Quran, dhikr, didn’t want it to stop
And momma cooked breakfast with no ghee
I got my grub on, but all of it healthy
Finally got a call from Imam been seeking out
He gonna represent in our Mosque no doubt
Hooked it up for later as I hit the do’
Thinking will I live, another twenty fo’
I gotta go cos I got me a lap top
And if I hit the switch I can make the screen flop
Got on the tube without a fight
Looked around, not a jacker in sight
And everything is alright
I got a text from Asim and they do dhikr all night
Called up the brother and I’m asking you all
Which park, ya’ll playing football?
Get me on the pitch and I’m playing sick
Last week messed around and got a double hat-trick
Freaking brothaz every way like Pele
I can’t believe, today was a good day

Drove to the pad and got my ghusl on
Didn’t even get no static from po po
Cause just yesterday them fools tried to stop’n search me
Saw Shaytan and he rolled right past me
No flirtin’, just kept a lowered gaze
as I ran the fitna maze
Went to Jamal’s house and they was watching Hamza Yusuf tapes
What’s the haps on Jummu’ah my papes?
Shake em up, shake em up, shake em up, shake em
6 brothers, 1 car and watch me fit em
With the seven, 12-fifty seven, 12-fifty seven
Made it to Mosque Imam talking about heaven
Inspirational khutba with no yelling
Left Mosque with a motivated feeling
Then we discussed eateries
And I’m yelling biryanies!
Plus no negative media about Muslims today
Today was a good day

Left my brothers house fed strong
Picked up a book searching for since long
It’s ironic, I had the compass he had the mat
Out on road ‘Asr in, prayed 4 rakats
A good friend gave shahada, all delighted
Liverpool beat United
Gave some charity secretly
Put some money in a homeless persons hands discreetly
Then read some prayers on the Prophet
Cos I had the Dalail in my pocket
Listened to Shaykh’s advice, so deep, so deep
Cried myself to sleep
Woke up around one
Dreamt Junayd telling me to get my prayer on
Dragged my body to wudu basin
Washed away traces of minor sin
Then made tawba for my sorry state
Prayed tahajjud with rakats eight
Today was like one of those fly dreams
Presence in prayer rose like high beams
No drunkards out in the streets
Two in the morning face kissed by a cool breeze
Even saw the stars in the sky for once
And they read “God is One”
Today I even remembered to use my Miswak
I got to say it was a good day.

~ by B Majnun on January 4, 2008.

3 Responses to “It Was a Good Day”

  1. Wow just great, a rap to the hip hop of life and Islam 🙂

    Ya Haqq!

  2. Asalaamu alikum wa rahmatullah,

    C a p t i v a t i n g words. Masha’allah you are very talented, BM. What made it all the more interesting was it told the story of your days.

    Looking froward to reading more insha’allah

    Don’t be sad.

  3. That was so cool man, I loved that Ice Cube song.

Leave a Reply

 
